top of page

So, I'm going abroad...

I'm writing this blog is to document my experiences during my UCLA Summer Travel French Paris Program. I will be blogging for the UCLA International Education office to help promote education abroad. Though I am a physiological science major, I am pursuing a French minor. This Travel Study program is the perfect way for me to start my French upper division courses.

I figured for my first post it would be nice to introduce my perspective and outline what drew me to the program. I began learning French when I was eleven years old. My middle school required students to start learning a language, I enjoyed it, and I have continued for the last 8 years. If you would've told me that years down the road I would be here blogging about study abroad in France, I would have never believed you in a million years. So pat on the back for eleven-year-old Gina for starting what has now become one of my long-term education goals! For me, learning a second language will always be a relevant skill in a continuously globalizing world. Our world is continuously advancing every day and connections can be made easily from thousands of miles apart. I am greatly unsure of what career path I would like to pursue, but I do see myself in some area of multidisciplinary study - hopefully bridging language and science. I’m a bit of a paradox, but I’m working it out.

I will be taking two courses with Travel Study: 1. FRENCH 100: Descriptive and Narrative Writing (5 units), and 2. FRENCH 107: Advanced Oral Expression (4 units). In comparison to a typical quarter at UCLA, we have class three times a week for around three hours at a time. I don’t think Travel Study should be dismissed as easy due to the short amount of meeting time (because I am fully aware I will need to study), but it will offer the flexibility to learn through experience. My program specifically organizes a homestay experience with French families to increase our exposure with the language and culture. This will help facilitate everyday learning just from being at home. The program promotes utilizing Paris as my textbook and engaging with local populations - a facet I find truly unique and exciting about study abroad.

I plan to document all the details of my Travel Study; everything from the most memorable moments to the mishaps, to show the value of experiencing new cultures firsthand. Despite my years of learning French, I have never been to France, nor a French speaking country for that matter. I am beyond excited to experience a country that has been deeply rooted in my education all these years. On that note, I have a few goals for the program which I will share with you here:

1. Improve my grammar, conversational speech, and listening comprehension in French

Written French is different than spoken French which is different than slang, which I have yet to learn. This program will be my opportunity to not only refine what I already know, but also to be the first time I will use my French outside of class!

2. Engage with local communities and meet new people

Due to the homestay, I’m hoping to become familiar with the neighborhood I stay in and hopefully find a café to frequent. I can’t wait to meet my host parents, too. Not to mention, summer Travel Study programs are with UCLA professors and students, so it will be fun to come back to California in the fall and meet up with new friends and reminisce about our time in Paris.

3. Explore & become familiar with a new city

I can’t wait to explore Paris. I fully intend to see all the tourist attractions (hello, Eiffel Tower), but, due to the length of the program, I will have the opportunity to explore lesser known parts. Also, I’m really excited for the food and other cultural elements of France.

4. Have a dream in French

I acknowledge that this is something completely out of my control, but I think it would be really cool. However, I am willing to settle with simply being able to carry a conversation in French and navigating the city with ease. I will update you if a dream in French happens, though.

The start of the program is quickly approaching, I can’t wait to be in Paris!


bottom of page